Monday, June 7, 2010

week 3 response to nicole

Nick T. said... I finally had to see what everyone was talking about when it came to these Housewives shows because they have become something of a phenomenon. Nicole, your interest in psychology shows in your analysis of this series and after viewing it myself I have to agree. Its like one of those horrible accidents that is sickening to look at yet impossible not to rubberneck at. Their behavior towards one another is terrible and although they seem to be trying to achieve the "blank" housewive cliche of whatever state it is they are perpetuating a message about women that is even more powerful. What I got from that show was that these women feed off of drama. The littlest things send sparks flying, and the fights are usually about someone breaking some kind of lady like code. (you didn't send me a card when my baby was born! you didn't invite me to your dinner party) The confessionals to the camera have brought gossip to an entirely different level. So as you commented, why are these shows so addictive? What is the secret ingedient in what i call class-trash television? They might have nice hair, clothes and makeup but their interpersonal relationships are less than glamorous. I think it is the seething arguments, the backspin and cattiness that women in particular are so drawn to because it allows them to celebrate what they so often experience in their own lives.

No comments:

Post a Comment